Thursday 26 April 2007
St David's Hall, Cardiff

Welsh National Opera, Orchestra & Chorus


Chorus of Welsh National Opera
Conductors: James MacMillan & Michal Klauza
Solo Violins: Simon Lewis & Lowri Porter

MacMillan The Confession of Isobel Gowdie
MacMillan Magnificat
Bach Concerto for Two Violins
Mozart Symphony No 41 (Jupiter)

Few living composers make a more urgent impact and communicate with audiences as strongly as James MacMillan. In the year when his newly commissioned opera will be performed by WNO, here is a chance to experience two of his most popular pieces: the powerful Confession of Isobel Gowdie, based on the Scottish witch hunts of the seventeenth century and the choral Magnificat. There are two great eighteenth century masterworks in the second half of the concert - Bachís sublime Concerto for Two Violins and Mozartís final symphony, the bold, majestic and serene Jupiter.