Friday 26 January 2007
St David's Hall, Cardiff

Philharmonia Orchestra


Conductor Christoph von Dohnányi
Elizabeth Atherton, Soprano
Karen Cargill, Mezzo Soprano
Toby Spence, Tenor
Matthew Rose, Bass
Philharmonia Chorus

Mendelssohn A Midsummer Night’s Dream - Extracts
Beethoven Symphony No 9 (Choral)

At the end of his life, deaf, cut off from the world and unconcerned with everyday matters, Beethoven composed his Ninth and final Symphony. This vast, untamed work, full of cosmic struggle also speaks to the heart with a profundity and humanity that is unique. Few conductors are better equipped to reach the depths and heights of this masterpiece as Christoph von Dohnányi, steeped in its traditions for over fifty years.