Thursday 19 January 2012
Town Hall, Cheltenham

BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Tadaaki Otaka

Conductor: Tadaaki Otaka
Piano: Stephen Hough

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6 in E Minor (The Pathetique)

Rachmaninov’s name is forever linked with his piano concertos and tonight’s concert gives an opportunity to hear the celebrated pianist Stephen Hough play the First Piano Concerto, composed by the young Rachmaninov and revised later into a concise, spirited work.
'With such committed advocacy and technical bravura, Hough’s interpretations demand to be heard.'
Sunday Times

We welcome back the distinguished Japanese conductor Tadaaki Otaka, conductor laureate of BBC National Orchestra of Wales to direct the orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s last and most profound symphony.
'Otaka’s fastidious care for every detail of a technically complex score brought the music wonderfully alive.'
Daily Telegraph